Current track



Mad Professor’s dub version of Massive Attack’s ‘Mezzanine’ is coming on vinyl

Written by on 30th August 2019

Mad Professor's dub version of Massive Attack's 'Mezzanine' is coming on vinyl

21 years since its original release, Massive Attack will be releasing a previously unheard dub version of their album ‘Mezzanine’ from British dub icon Mad Professor.

Last year – in true Massive Attack style – the band celebrated the 20th anniversary of ‘Mezzanine’ by encoding the album into DNA molecules. One year on and we are being treated with a (slightly less dystopian) vinyl release of Mad Professor’s 1998 dub remixes. The long-awaited album is due to be released on September 20 through Virgin EMI.

Mad Professor made these dub remixes during the year of Mezzanine’s release in 1998, but only a few saw the light of day. The full dub version will consist of all eight original remixes, including seminal tunes like ‘Angel’ and ‘Teardrop’.

A Mad Professor dub version of Massive Attack’s second album ‘No Protection’ was recorded in 1995, however this was released soon after the original.

The ‘Mezzanine’ remix album will be pressed onto Pink Vinyl, with Robert Del Naja and Tom Hingston designing the sleeve. It will also feature some of the original artwork from Aiden Hughes.

‘Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II (Mezzanine Remix tapes ’98)’ can be pre-ordered through the Massive Attack store for £18. Peep the full tracklist below.

Side A.

1. Metal Banshee (Mad Professor Mix 1)
2. Angel (Angel Dust)
3. Risingson (Setting Sun Dub 2)
4. Teardrop (Mazaruni Dub 1)

Side B.

1. Inertia Creeps (Floating On Dubwise)
2. Exchange (Mountain Steppers Dub)
3. Wire (Leaping Dub)
4. Group Four (Security Forces Dub)

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.