Current track



Current show

Casey Voorde

20:00 22:00

​Floating Points announces new album ‘Crush’ on Ninja Tune

Written by on 30th August 2019

​Floating Points announces new album 'Crush' on Ninja Tune

Sam Shepherd, better known as Floating Points, has announced his latest album ‘Crush’ – set to land on October 18 via Ninja Tune.

The 12-track LP was made over a frenzied five-week period that was inspired by “the invigorating improvisation of his shows supporting The xx in 2017.” Gravitating away from the slow and ethereal sonic ventures that were explored on his debut album ‘Elaenia’ and with his live band, ‘Crush’ marks the beginning of new solo-excursion that focuses its energy on a fresh and propulsive dancefloor attitude.

It’s his first new album in four years, and in it, Floating Points circles back to the sounds of the UK bass scene he emerged from in the late 2000s. These sounds fuse with the mellow and seasoned modulations of his past work, bringing the many sides of Floating Points together in one cohesive album.

Floating Points will debut his new solo-live show on November 13 in Paris at Elysee Montmartre on November 13 before making his way to Funkhaus in Berlin on November 16 and Printworks London on November 21. Purchase tickets here.

The UK maestro has teamed up with Hamill Industries to devise the live visuals for his upcoming tour. Using a macro lens, bubbles, paint and live frequencies from Floating Point’s Buchla, they’ve designed a fabulous new aesthetic for his new show. They used the same process to devise the album’s artwork, which can be seen below.

To give fans a taste of what’s coming, they’ve released a music video for the album cut “Last Bloom’. Check it out below.

Pre-order ‘Crush’ here.


1. Falaise
2. Last Bloom
3. Anasickmodular
4. Requiem for CS70 and Strings
5. Karakul
6. LesAlpx
7. Bias
8. Environments
9. Birth
10. Sea-Watch
11. Apoptose Pt1
12. Apoptose Pt2

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.