Current track



Current show

Casey Voorde

20:00 22:00

Robert Hood makes a ‘Paradygm Shift’ with new album on Dekmantel – News – Mixmag

Written by on 3rd April 2017

Robert Hood makes a 'Paradygm Shift' with new album on Dekmantel

Robert Hood is responsible for Dekmantel’s 50th release with new album ‘Paradygm Shift’.

Out on May 22, the record is Hood’s first under his birth name since 2012’s ‘Motor: Nighttime World 3′. The Dutch label says the nine-tracker is “the return to the distinguished style that defined Hood’s music in the early ’90s.”

Hood says: “The idea behind it is just a shift in our focus. We can become complacent; we are so comfortable with our surroundings. I think this is the time for electronic music to find a new mindset.

“I felt it was necessary to reiterate as an electronic music artist who is bringing minimalism back in the forefront, and not to get lost in the melody. I want to get back to the simple repetitive programming that I’m known for, and to me it was returning to that and shifting the listeners’ focus.”

The Detroit producer has been linked to Dekmantel since 2016, releasing ‘Paradygm Shift – Volume 1’ and ‘Paradygm Shift – Volume 2’.

Dekmantel celebrates its 10th birthday this year and is releasing 10 EPs featuring artists such as Shanti Celeste, Motor City Drum Ensemble and Levon Vincent.

Pre-order ‘Paradygm Shift’ here and listen to a teaser and see the tracklist below.

A1. Robert Hood – Preface
A2. Robert Hood – Idea
A3. Robert Hood – I Am
B1. Robert Hood – Solid Thought
B2. Robert Hood – Nephesh
C1. Robert Hood – Pneuma
C2. Robert Hood – Pattern 8
D1. Robert Hood – Thought Process
D2. Robert Hood – Lockers (Extended)

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.